Providing Strength in a Time of Crisis
Serving All Of North Carolina

Disclaimer: Free Consultations only apply to cases regarding an injury. Please note that any consultations relating to Family Law will require a consultation fee to be paid.

Charlotte Reporting a Work Injury

Table of Contents

Reporting a Work Injury

Workers are usually at risk of falling ill or injured due to various workplace accidents. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the total number of work-related injuries per 100 full-time workers stood at 2.8 at the end of 2020. Averagely, 0.9 in 100 full-time workers will spend days away from work due to work injuries and illnesses. Further, 0.7 in 100 full-time workers face job transfers or restrictions after suffering a work-related injury or illness.

How do you go about reporting a work injury in Charlotte, North Carolina?

Workers’ compensation is a government-mandated form of insurance meant to compensate workers for their monetary losses whenever they suffer a work-related injury or illness. However, the claim process can get complex, especially when employers or their insurers deny your claim citing reasons such as untimely reporting of the injury.

If you have been injured or fallen ill due to a work-related injury, it is imperative that you report within the required time frame to ensure that you receive the monetary benefits you deserve. Filing your claim with the help of a Charlotte workers’ compensation attorney from Waple & Houk, PLLC ensures that you follow the right steps and report your injury in time for a valid claim. Call us today at (704)954-8697 to schedule a case evaluation to establish the validity of your claim.

How Long Do I Have in Reporting a Work Injury in Charlotte, North Carolina?

Whenever you suffer a work-related injury or are diagnosed with a work-related disease, reporting to the relevant authority in time puts you in a good place with your workers’ compensation claim. In North Carolina, you have 30 days to report your injury or disease to your employer if you want to receive monetary benefits for your losses.

Waiting longer than 30 days puts your claim at risk as it could outright be denied by your employer’s insurer. In most cases, there will be little you can do to contest such a denial. It is advisable that you report your workplace injury or illness to the concerned person as soon as it becomes obvious that you’re ill or injured.

While some employers will try to “tough out” a workplace injury and hope that they will recover within a few days, your claim could potentially be at risk, especially if the deadline is exceeded. Reporting in a timely fashion gives your employer ample time to investigate how your injury occurred and puts you in a good position as far as recovering monetary benefits for your losses is concerned.

Charlotte Reporting Work Injury Infographic

Who Do I Have to Report a Workplace Injury To?

Depending on the organization, there are various people to whom you can report your workplace injury or illness. For a company that is run by a sole owner, you are required to report their injury or illness to their employer as soon as your injury or illness becomes apparent. For larger companies, you may also report your injury to your supervisor or any other high-ranking within the company, preferably a human resource (HR) representative.

Even though your injury might seem minor, it is important to report it to such officials within the company as soon as possible to ensure that you stay within the deadlines. When reporting your injury, it helps greatly to have a witness (co-worker) confirm when you were injured.

Employer Responsibilities After a Workplace Injury

Generally, employers are required to provide a safe working space and ensure safe working conditions for their employees. Whenever a workplace injury occurs, or an employee reports an occupational illness, an employer is required to find out the facts of the injury or injury and file a report of the same with their insurance company.

Employers should fill out the details of your injury or illness in a First Report of Injury and submit the document to their insurer. The insurance company files a report of the same with the Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) in the next 24 hours.

hard hat, clipboard with injury report form, reporting a work injury in Charlotte

It is also the employer’s responsibility to facilitate your medical treatment for your injury or occupational illness. Your employer will present you with their panel of physicians, from which you can choose to receive medical attention. For serious injuries or illnesses, your employer will help you seek further medical evaluation from an approved specialist.

Employee Responsibility After a Workplace Injury

In the event of a workplace accident, you are required to report your injury to your employer or any other high-ranking member like your supervisor or HR representative. Reporting your injury or illness should be done in a timely fashion to avoid the possible denial if the 30-day deadline isn’t observed.

You are also required to seek medical treatment from a doctor recommended to you by your employer. Visiting another doctor, other than one in the employer’s panel of doctors, could result in unnecessary complications in your claim. After receiving treatment, you are required to fill out a Form 18 to report your injury to the North Carolina Industrial Commission.

Most importantly, you are required to keep all records, including the medical records and a copy of Form 18 throughout the claim process. What’s more, you should keep your employer updated to avoid any conflicts. If your doctor recommends some time off work for recuperation, it is important that you inform your employer. This helps them plan ahead and know when the company can expect you to return.

Call Us Today When Reporting a Work Injury in Charlotte

Reaching out to a Charlotte workers’ compensation lawyer when reporting your workplace injury and before filing a claim helps you avoid potential complications. It also ensures that your claim process goes on smoothly and that you receive your deserved monetary benefits for your injury or occupational illness.

Workers who are injured or diagnosed with an occupational disease are usually entitled to monetary benefits from their employer through workers’ compensation. To ensure that your claim isn’t denied, it is important that you report your injury to your employer or supervisor within 30 days.

If you have been injured in your Charlotte while on the clock, it is advisable that you report your injury and file your claim with the help of a Charlotte workers’ compensation attorney to ensure that you receive your monetary benefits. Calling by (704) 954-8697 at Waple & Houk, PLLC to speak to one of our workers’ comp lawyers to find out your legal rights and responsibilities.